Campaign 2010

Nov 20, 2012

Memo: House Democrats Reach 201 in Final Results

TO:                  Interested Parties

FROM:            Jesse Ferguson, DCCC Deputy Executive Director and Communications Director

RE:                 House Democrats Reach 201 in Final Results

DATE:            November 20, 2012


The final results of the 2012 elections are in with all vote counting completed and all races now decided. On election night, it looked like House Democrats would exceed expectations and reach 200 Members in our caucus once again. With today’s victory against Allen West in FL-18, that number is 201.


As the New York Times’ Jonathan Weisman wrote this weekend, it has been “quite a run Dems are on in disputed House races.” House Democrats recently won the races in CA-52 (Peters defeated Bilbray), CA-07 (Bera defeated Lungren), AZ-09 (Sinema defeated Parker), AZ-02 (Barber defeated McSally), NC-07 (McIntyre defeated Rouzer) and now, today, FL-18 (Murphy defeated West).


House Democrats gained a net of 8 seats in the House, starting to roll back the Tea Party wave and setting House Democrats on strong footing for the 2014 elections. House Republicans had claimed they would gain seats in 2012 – predicting gains of as many as 16 seats.


Democrats exceeded expectations:


Democrats won 78 percent of races considered Toss Up by the Rothenberg Report; Democrats won (14 of 18).


Democrats won 69 percent of races considered Toss Up by the Cook Political Report; Democrats won (20 of 29).


Democrats defeated 16 Republican incumbents---more than the 14 defeated back in the 2008 election.


In a post-mortem on the party committees, Charlie Cook of the Cook Political Report wrote:


[The DCCC] “…deserve[s] credit for ‘beating the point spread’ in the House, scoring a net pickup of seven or eight seats”


“The fact that Democrats were able to win some 200 seats with a less-than-universally-loved president topping the ticket is remarkable.”


“Democrats excelled at hand-to-hand combat”


“deftly trained candidates, kept pace with GOP fundraising, and put several previously uncompetitive seats (such as Mary Bono Mack’s CA-36) in play.”


Voters elected 49 new House Democrats who will join the 113th Congress. The new Democratic caucus looks like America today, instead of the Republican caucus which – as Chairman Steve Israel has put it – looks like a re-run of the show Mad Men. The House Democratic Caucus is the first caucus in history to be a majority comprised of women and minorities.


Newly elected Members of the House Democratic Caucus:  

AZ-01:  Ann Kirkpatrick (D)

AZ-09:  Kyrsten Sinema (D)

CA-02:  Jared Huffman (D)

CA-07:  Ami Bera (D)+

CA-15:  Eric Swalwell (D)

CA-26:  Julia Brownley (D)

CA-29:  Tony Cardenas (D)

CA-35:  Gloria McLeod (D)

CA-36:  Raul Ruiz (D)+

CA-41:  Mark Takano (D)

CA-47:  Alan Lowenthal (D)

CA-51:  Juan Vargas (D)

CA-52:  Scott Peters (D)+

CT-05: Elizabeth Esty (D)

FL-09:  Alan Grayson (D)

FL-18:  Patrick Murphy (D)+

FL-22: Lois Frankel (D)

FL-26: Joe Garcia (D)+

HI-02:  Tulsi Gabbard (D)

IL-08: Tammy Duckworth (D)+

IL-10: Brad Schneider (D)+

IL-11: Bill Foster (D)+

IL-12: Bill Enyart (D)

IL-17: Cheri Bustos (D)+

MD-06:  John Delaney (D)+

MA-04:  Joe Kennedy (D)

MI-05:  Daniel Kildee (D)

MN-08:  Rick Nolan (D)+

NV-01: Dina Titus (D)

NV-04: Steven Horsford (D)

NH-01: Carol Shea-Porter (D)+

NH-02: Annie Kuster (D)+

NM-01: Michelle Lujan Grisham (D)

NJ-10:  Donald Payne, Jr. (D)

NY-06: Grace Meng (D)

NY-08: Hakeem Jeffries (D)

NY-18: Sean Patrick Maloney (D)+

NY-24: Dan Maffei (D)+

OH-03: Joyce Beatty (D)

PA-17: Matt Cartwright (D)

TX-16: Beto O’Rourke (D)

TX-20: Joaquin Castro (D)

TX-23: Pete Gallego (D)+

TX-33: Marc Veasey (D)

TX-34: Filemon Vela (D)

WA-01: Suzan DelBene (D)

WA-06: Derek Kilmer (D)

WA-10: Denny Heck (D)

WI-02: Mark Pocan (D)


+denotes defeat of a Republican incumbent