Campaign 2010

May 16, 2011

DCCC Launches Next Phase Hold Republicans Accountable for Ending Medicare, Protecting Big Oil

The Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee (DCCC) today expanded its paid and grassroots “Drive to 25” campaign to hold targeted House Republicans accountable for choosing to end Medicare rather than end taxpayer giveaways for Big Oil making huge profits or tax breaks for the ultra rich.


The DCCC is launching its enhanced Medicare Action Center,, with new signs for protests (with QR barcodes that direct people to the Action Center), a virtual phone bank, and tools to call or write your Representative.  The DCCC will also be deploying e-mails to its 4.5 million person list asking them to take action this week and deploying a new round of automated phone calls.  The DCCC previously ran radio ads, automated phone calls, live phone calls, and e-mails in targeted Republican districts.


In 20 districts, the DCCC will run automated phone calls highlighting that people between the ages of 44 and 54 paid into Medicare for more than 25 years, and the Republican budget that ends Medicare and protects Big Oil would result in these people needing an additional $182,000 in retirement savings to pay for their health care. 


The text of the automated call follows:


Hi, I’m calling from the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee calling about Congressman Lou Barletta’s vote to end Medicare. 

You’ve paid into Medicare for more than 25 years and deserve the Medicare benefits you’ve earned. Under the Barletta plan, Medicare ends and you’ll have to save about $182,000 more to pay for your health care.  Where will you get $182,000?


Everyone agrees we must cut spending and tighten our belt, but Barletta has made the wrong choice.  Ending Medicare to pay for subsidies for Big Oil making huge profits or tax breaks for the ultra rich!  That’s not right.


Please call Congressman Barletta at (570) 751-0050 and tell him to keep his hands off our Medicare!



AZ-01             Paul Gosar

CO-03             Scott Tipton

FL-02              Steve Southerland

FL-10              Bill Young     

FL-22              Allen West

IA-03               Tom Latham

IL-17               Bobby Schilling

MI-07              Tim Walberg

NC-02             Renee Elmers

NV-03             Joe Heck

NY-19             Nan Hayworth

NY-25             Ann Marie Buerkle

OH-01             Steve Chabot

PA-03              Mike Kelly

PA-11              Lou Barletta               

PA-15              Charlie Dent

TX-23             Francisco "Quico" Canseco

TX-27             Blake Farenthold

VA-02             Scott Rigell    

WI-07              Sean Duffy