Campaign 2010

Aug 01, 2008

DCCC Announces Winners of the Mobilize for Change: A National Day of Action

Chairman Chris Van Hollen today announced that Larry Kissell (NC-08) won the 2008 Mobilize for Change: A National Day of Action. Democratic Candidate Gary Peters (MI-09) won an honorable mention on the day when candidates across America bolstered their volunteer base to kicking off the last 100 days of their campaigns. Kissell has won a fundraising email that will be sent on his behalf to our list of three million supporters and activists. 


"Congratulations to Larry Kissell and Gary Peters for assembling true people-powered campaigns for change and beginning the home stretch with an energized base of volunteers," said Chairman Chris Van Hollen. "Our Mobilize for Change: A National Day of Action was a huge success with hundreds of thousands of doors knocked and phones dialed in the name of change. All across America, our candidates are inspiring  voters to join their fights for a New Direction and building their campaigns from the bottom-up." 


In winning the DCCC's Mobilize for Change: A National Day of Action, Larry Kissell (NC-08) recruited a record 1,700 volunteers and his efforts were highlighted on the front page of Daily Kos. Mobilize for Change: A National Day of Action was an overwhelming success.  Volunteers across the country knocked on doors and made calls to more than 250,000 voters on behalf of Democratic candidates for change in some of the most competitive House races.


The scope and effectiveness of the DCCC's voter contract program this cycle is unprecedented for House campaigns.  The DCCC's 2008 voter contact programs began in November 2007 and already have resulted in more than two million voter contacts (door knocks and phone calls).  The DCCC tested the effectiveness and improved its enhanced voter contact programs with each of the special elections Democrats won in IL-14, LA-06, and MS-01.  The programs are on track to do more than 13 million voter contacts for the cycle in more than 50 districts.