Campaign 2010

Sep 24, 2013

‘This Is Insanity:’ With a Government Shutdown Looming, DCCC Launches Paid Facebook Campaign

With House Republicans hurtling the country toward a government shutdown, the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee today is launching “This Is Insanity,” a paid Facebook campaign to urge 27 House Republicans not to shut down the government in order to pad health insurance companies’ profits. The DCCC’s Facebook campaign will engage young voters all over the country to sign petitions to tell their Member of Congress to stop playing political games with our economy and focus on commonsense solutions that protect our heath care and grow our economy. 

House Republicans voted on Friday to give in to Tea Party demands and shut down the U.S. government, all so that they can take away critical patient protections and give insurance companies free rein to raise health care costs.

“Even Karl Rove and John McCain think a shutdown is a terrible idea, but House Republicans keep hurtling our economy closer to a shutdown, all so they can help health insurance companies pad their profits,” said Emily Bittner of the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee. “House Republicans are doubling down on their insane priorities, by jeopardizing military pay and seniors’ Social Security checks – all so insurance companies have free rein over our health care decisions. Young voters are fed up and frustrated with the broken Republican Congress more than ever, and we will give them another way to get engaged in stopping the insanity that could devastate our economy.”

Voters in the following districts will be on the receiving end of the Facebook campaign:

Congressman Dan Benishek (MI-01)

Congressman Kerry Bentivolio (MI-11)

Congressman Mike Coffman (CO-06)

      Congressman Rodney Davis (IL-13)

Congressman Jeff Denham (CA-10)

Congressman Sean Duffy (WI-07)

Congressman Mike Fitzpatrick (PA-08)

Congressman Scott Garrett (NJ-05)

Congressman Chris Gibson (NY-19)

Congressman Michael Grimm (NY-11)

Congressman Joe Heck (NV-03)

Congressman David Joyce (OH-14)

Congressman John Kline (MN-02)

Congressman Tom Latham (IA-03)

Congressman Frank LoBiondo (NJ-02)

Congressman David McKinley (WV-01)

Congressman Gary Miller (CA-31)

Congressman Erik Paulsen (MN-03)

Congressman Steve Pearce (NM-02)

Congressman Tom Reed (NY-23)

Congressman Scott Rigell (VA-02)

Congressman Jon Runyan (NJ-03)

Congressman Steve Southerland (FL-02)

Congressman Lee Terry (NE-02)

Congressman David Valadao (CA-21)

Congressman Tim Walberg (MI-07)

Congressman Kevin Yoder (KS-03)


Want the latest updates? Follow the DCCC on Facebook and Twitter: