Campaign 2010

Mar 01, 2013

Tea Party Congressman Weber Votes Against Violence Against Women Act

An individualized version of the following release was sent to these districts: Justin Amash (MI-03); Michele Bachmann (MN-06); Kerry Bentivolio (MI-11); Bill Johnson (OH-06); Reid Ribble (WI-08); Peter Roskam (IL-06); Scott Garrett (NJ-05); Mike Kelly (PA-03); Keith Rothfus (PA-12); Steve King (IA-04); Kristi Noem (SD-AL); Ann Wagner (MO-02); Eric Cantor (VA-07); Tom Cotton (AR-04); Rick Crawford (AR-01); Scott DesJarlais (TN-04); John Fleming (LA-04); Tim Griffin (AR-02); Richard Hudson (NC-08); Mick Mulvaney (SC-05); Alan Nunnelee (MS-01); Robert Pittenger (NC-09); Tom Rice (SC-07); Steve Southerland (FL-02); Frank Wolf (VA-10); Pete Sessions (TX-32); Randy Weber (TX-14).   

Tea Party Congressman Weber Votes Against Violence Against Women Act


If there was ever any doubt about Congressman Randy Weber’s Tea Party extremism, he showed his true colors today by voting against the Violence Against Women Act. The bipartisan Violence Against Women Act (VAWA) was first passed in 1994 and includes tough penalties for domestic violence, supports law enforcement and provides critical support to groups and services for the victims of domestic abuse.


“Congressman Weber abandoned women today by joining with the Tea Party to try to defeat the Violence Against Women Act,” said Emily Bittner of the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee.  “There can be no question: Congressman Weber and his Tea Party friends are more focused on a radical ideology than on what’s good for women and families.”




Two-thirds of House Republicans – 138 members – voted against reauthorizing the Violence Against Women Act. [S. 47, Vote #55, 2/28/13]


The Violence Against Women Act provides resources to protect women everywhere from domestic violence and sexual assault. The measure passed with strong bipartisan support in the Senate. [S. 47, Vote #19, 2/12/13]


Want the latest updates? Follow the DCCC on Facebook and Twitter: