Campaign 2010

Apr 19, 2011

DCCC Launches Latest Drive for 25 Campaign

The Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee (DCCC) today announced it is launching a paid advertising and grassroots campaign to hold 25 vulnerable House Republicans accountable for choosing to end Medicare rather than end taxpayer giveaways for Big Oil making record profits or tax breaks for the ultra rich.  Everyone agrees we must cut spending and tighten our belt, but House Republicans have made all the wrong choices.

“This is a defining moment for House Republicans: they chose to end Medicare rather than end taxpayer giveaways for Big Oil or tax breaks for the ultra rich.  We will go district by district to hold Republicans accountable for the wrong choice they made,” said DCCC Chairman Steve Israel.  “Seniors who pay a lifetime into Medicare deserve the benefits they’ve earned. Under the Republican plan, if you make over a million dollars, you win the lottery. If you’re a senior, you lose your Medicare. That’s not right.”

In 25 targeted districts, the DCCC will be running news-weather-traffic radio ads, web ads, automated and live phone calls, and sending nearly 4.5 million “action alert” e-mails throughout the next two weeks.  Stay tuned for more information as this ad campaign continues…

An example of the news-weather-traffic radio ad follows:

“Did you know Congressman Chip Cravaack voted to end Medicare forcing seniors to pay $12,500 for private health insurance, without guaranteed coverage? Tell Cravaack to keep his hands off our Medicare.”

The ads begin Tuesday during drive time in the following districts:

  • AR-01 Rick Crawford
  • AR-02 Tim Griffin
  • AZ-01 Paul Gosar
  • CA-03 Dan Lungren
  • CO-03 Scott Tipton
  • FL-08  Daniel Webster
  • FL-10  Bill Young
  • FL-13  Vern Buchanan
  • FL-16  Tom Rooney
  • FL-22  Allen West
  • FL-25  David Rivera *
  • IA-03   Tom Latham   (currently represents IA-04)
  • IA-04   Steve King      (currently represents IA-05)
  • IL-17   Bobby Schilling
  • IN-08   Larry Buschon
  • MI-01  Dan Benishek
  • MI-06 Fred Upton
  • MN-08 Chip Cravaack
  • NH-02 Charlie Bass 
  • NY-25 Ann Marie Buerkle
  • OH-01 Steve Chabot
  • SD-AL Kristi Noem
  • TX-23 Francisco Canseco *
  • WI-01  Paul Ryan
  • WI-07  Sean Duffy

*  English and Spanish language ads will be running

Want the latest updates? Follow the DCCC on Facebook and Twitter: