Campaign 2010

Aug 08, 2012

DCCC Chairman Steve Israel Announces 13 New Red to Blue Races

Today DCCC Chairman Steve Israel announced 13 more races that have qualified for the highly competitive Red to Blue program as the latest wave in the DCCC’s ‘Drive to 25’ campaign to win the House. These candidates have earned a spot on Red to Blue by exceeding demanding fundraising, organization and infrastructure goals. These candidates are problem solvers who will address the American people’s top priorities and strengthen the middle class. In addition, Chairman Israel announced four new Emerging Races.

New polling last week in the most vulnerable 27 House Republican-held districts showed Democratic candidates with a 6-point lead (50 – 44 percent), with Democratic challengers reaching the critical 50-percent threshold, according to the latest Battleground Survey by Democracy Corps.

“These candidates have earned a spot on the competitive Red to Blue program because they’re on offense and working tirelessly to unmask Republicans’ wrong priorities that put tax breaks for millionaires, Big Oil, and companies shipping jobs overseas ahead of protecting seniors and strengthening the middle class,” said DCCC Chairman Steve Israel. “These top-tier Democratic candidates are focused on solving problems, creating jobs, strengthening the middle class and protecting seniors. Their Republican opponents are forced to defend their relentless protections of millionaires over Medicare and the middle class. Allyson Schwartz, along with Jared Polis and Donna Edwards, will continue to help our candidates play an aggressive offense and build winning campaigns through Election Day.”

Congressman Jared Polis (CO) and Congresswoman Donna Edwards (MD) co-chair the Red to Blue program, and Congresswoman Allyson Schwartz serves as the National Chair for Recruitment and Candidate Services.

New Red to Blue (13)

Julia Brownley (CA-26)*

Alan Lowenthal (CA-47)*

Scott Peters (CA-52)*

Bill Enyart (IL-12)*

David Gill (IL-13)

Mike Obermueller (MN-02)*

Hayden Rogers (NC-11)*

Michelle Lujan Grisham (NM-01)*

Carol Shea-Porter (NH-01)

Mark Murphy (NY-11)

Sean Patrick Maloney (NY-18)

Pete Gallego (TX-23)

Suzan DelBene (WA-01)

Emerging Races (4)

Scott Ellington (AR-01)*

Steve Pestka (MI-03)

Jim Graves (MN-06)

Kim Gillan (MT-AL)*

* These races were previously highlighted as part of the Red to Blue program after they won competitive primaries but have not been featured in a national announcement to our national network.




Want the latest updates? Follow the DCCC on Facebook and Twitter: